Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Oldtimer

automobile, car, transportation, American, vintage, Oldtimer, convertible

Had you been this morning on Place de la Concorde in Paris around 10:00 you would have come across quite a few oldtimers. I mean cars from the days when driving was a pleasure.

Twice a year these wonderful machines gather in Vincennes (east of Paris) then drive through the capital stopping to be admired at a few locations before heading back to their quarters.

To-day I arrived on time to see most of them and also to take a couple of shots. The main difficulty I found was the crowds surrounding the cars on display. Some people use telephoto lenses. They try to avoid the onlookers.

I took another route. My camera was hooked to my Distagon T 1.4/35mm lens from Carl Zeiss. Its minimum focus distance is of 0.30 m so I could get very close. I could also get a global view of the scene. I do not have a 50mm lens in my Canon EF kit but I find that a 35mm is quite versatile. This specific one is a manual focus only lens. But after a few weeks of usage I got the hang of it. My first SLR's did not have autofocus anyway. And I found it was more in the spirit of the cars I was snap-shooting.

car, automobile, dashboard, convertible

 

The comments are closed.